The digital microscope…Was it an R, A or T?

Rats by suzi54241, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 2.0 Generic License   by  suzi54241 

Thank you to Tracey for this RAT app, I am going to use it right now to evaluate my use of the digital microscope in my prep/grade 1 Science lesson. For this part of the lesson students examined a corn kernel and later a piece of popcorn using their senses at their desks and then examined them using the digital microscope. I have to say the image on the IWB was very fuzzy so I instructed students to come up in pairs and view the much clearer image on the laptop. They then had to write notes about the properties and draw a picture on their C2C worksheet. Many students made comments about the differences when comparing the naked eye examination against the digital microscopic image, such as the variances of colour evident. All the students were highly motivated by the use of the digital microscope.

Ok, I have no idea how this evaluation will go…

So the result is…drum roll…TRANSFORMATION! Yay! Do you see me doing the happy dance? 😉

The one part I could have done better was to actually take a photo of the microscopic image for them to stick onto their worksheet along with their drawn picture. I will see if I can amend this in some way next week with the continuation of the Science unit.

FYI…When I started the RAT evaluation on my iPad I was intending to write each question and answer into this blog, however it would have taken forever so if you have an i device I would highly recommend downloading the app.

RAT

Leave a comment